2023 AFTS Award Winner!

The Australian Fairy Tale Society is thrilled to announce that the winner of the 2023 AFTS Award for outstanding contributions to the field of fairy tales in Australia is Shirley Way.

Shirley Way has contributed immensely to the fairy tale community in so many ways over so many years – as former eZine editor, initiator of the podcast series (to be found on the AFTS youtube channel), member of the Brisbane Fairy Tale Ring, hardworking, skilled, and insightful Committee member, co-organiser of the AFTS conferences in 2020 and 2023, as well as captain of the hugely successful 2022 conference in Brisbane.

Congratulations Shirley!

Against a stained glass background which is part of the award, is a framed image of Shirley Way facing left, smiling, with honey coloured wavy hair.

Shirley’s co-nominees were:

Sophie Masson

This year, Sophie – with previous winner Lorena Carrington – launched a small indie publishing company, Pardalote Press, to get their magical stories and artworks out into the world.

Sophie’s book ‘French Fairy Tales’, which is illustrated by Lorena, inspired musician/composer Reilly McCarron to produce a CD, ‘Il était une fois’ (Once upon a time). And these three AFTS members are part of our anthology, ‘South of the Sun: Australian fairy tales for the 21st century’.

Sophie’s tales and passion for fairy tales have inspired art, music and readers around the world. Her body of work includes ‘French Fairy Tales’, ‘Satin’, ‘The Crystal Heart’, ‘Scarlet in the Snow’, ‘Moonlight and Ashes’, ‘The Firebird’, and ‘Hunter’s Moon’.

Spike Deane

An award-winning mixed media artist, specialising in cast glass, Spike draws much of her inspiration from fairy tales, folklore and mythology. Her prolific contributions to Australian fairy tale culture span from the old forests of Europe to engaging with chatbot, and an array of beautiful art in between.

Spike has volunteered her time, energy and skills as the AFTSeZine graphics editor since 2016.

Against a stained glass background, being part of the award, are three headshots labelled Sophie Masson, Spike Deane, and Shirley Way. The title is The 2023 AFTS Annual Award for inspiration and contribution to Australian Fairy Tale Culture nominees are and there is a crowned frog on a tree branch in an oval in the top left corner, being the logo of the Australian Fairy Tale Society.

One thought on “2023 AFTS Award Winner!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.